Canada Customs Temporarily Closing Some CANPASS Airports Of Entry Due To COVID


News Release
For Immediate Release
COVID-19 : Temporary suspension of service at select Canadian border services locations
May 12, 2020 – Ottawa, Ontario – Canada Border Services Agency
Further to the reduction of service at some Canadian land border ports of entry on April 15, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) today announced the temporary suspension of service at certain small vessel reporting sites, small airports of entry, ferry terminals and to the Remote Area Border Crossing (RABC) program. These COVID-19 related measures are temporary, and in effect as of May 12, 2020, at 23:59 EDT. They will remain in effect until further notice.
The CBSA will proceed with the temporary suspension of service at a total of 342 small vessel reporting sites and 126 small airports. Air and marine traffic will be redirected as appropriate.
The small vessel reporting locations are primarily marinas and telephone reporting sites that support recreational boating. With the high-traffic boating season fast approaching, the CBSA typically observes an increase in the volume of travellers coming to Canada at these sites for recreational purposes, which are currently prohibited.
In support of the Government of Canada’s objective to have all inbound travellers assessed for symptoms of COVID-19, the Agency is redirecting air and marine traffic to ports of entry where the CBSA maintains or can deploy officer presence.
Additionally, a number of ferry operators have decided to suspend services between Canada and the United States. This decision was made independently by each ferry operator. 
The RABC program, which is only available in parts of northwestern Ontario and southeastern Manitoba, has been temporarily suspended. Permit holders cannot use their RABC permit to enter Canada until current Canadian travel restrictions are lifted.
The Government of Canada continues to introduce border measures to limit the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in Canada. All discretionary or optional travel into Canada continues to be prohibited.
The CBSA remains committed to ensuring that Indigenous people continue to be able to move within and between their communities, and are able to provide and access essential goods and services.

​Quick Facts

  • This temporary suspension of service will be reviewed on an ongoing basis as the public health situation evolves.


  • Travellers are required to wear a non-medical mask or face covering upon entry to Canada and while in transit to isolation or quarantine, unless the mask or face covering needs to be removed for security or safety reasons.


  • Travellers who are granted entry into Canada will be informed of the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)’s mandatory 14-day isolation requirement. This is mandatory for all coming into Canada even if they do not have any symptoms, as they are at risk of developing symptoms and infecting others. If they do have symptoms, they will be referred to a health professional.


  • Travellers will also be required to provide their contact information and place of isolation to help PHAC monitor and enforce compliance with the 14-day isolation requirement. 

Associated Links
·        Factsheet: List of ports of entry remaining open
·        Directory of CBSA Offices and Services
·        Remote Area Border Crossing program
·        Border Information Service
·        Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
Media Relations
Canada Border Services Agency
[email protected]
Follow us on Twitter (@CanBorder), join us on Facebook or visit our YouTube channel.